Skip To Main Content

Project SEARCH

project SEARCH logo

The mission of Penn State Health Project SEARCH is to provide a business-led program where students with a wide range of developmental disabilities can learn relevant, marketable skills through innovative workforce and career development in an integrated setting with a goal for successful competitive employment of each Project SEARCH intern.

The Penn State Hershey Project SEARCH High School Transition Program features a unique, business-led, school-to-work program that takes place entirely at the workplace, Hershey Medical Center. Total workplace immersion facilitates a seamless combination of classroom instruction, career exploration, and relevant job-skills training through strategically designed internships.  The goal for each student participant is competitive employment. 


Apply today to participate in Project SEARCH!
Deadline to submit your application is Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Project Search Application


 

Project SEARCH student working in medical field
Two Project Search Students with a comfort cart
Project SEARCH student working in a grocery store.
Project SEARCH student serving food

What is the goal?

With the goal of competitive employment, each student receives classroom instruction and hands-on experience through internships in up to three departments at Penn State Health.  Employment searches are done throughout the program year to find suitable jobs within the intern’s community.

We are a partnership

PennState Health
Capital Area Intermediate Unit
PennState College of Medicine
Project SEARCH
Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry: Office of Vocational Rehabilitation

More Information


Email: projectsearch@caiu.org

Phone: 717-531-0003 x 289893

https://www.projectsearch.us/

 

Staff Information


Kirsti Porter
Instructor
Kporter@caiu.org

Kristen Oesterling
Skills Trainer
koesterling@caiu.org

Christian Wright
Skills Trainer
chwright@caiu.org

Additional Contacts


Christina Derr
Program Supervisor
cderr@caiu.org

Melissa Milano
Business Liaison
mmilano@pennstatehealth.psu.edu

Chris Sanders
Business Liaison
csanders4@pennstatehealth.psu.edu

Rosanny Reyes
Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor
roreyes@pa.gov

Download Project SEARCH Brochure